Save Green Timbers

Sign our petition

Comparing current and planned widths of Fraser Highway

Comparing current and planned widths of Fraser Highway

 

 

Surrey wants to widen the highway from 2 lanes to 4 lanes, plus 2 train tracks, plus a bike/pedestrian path. That’s widening it from about 12 meters to 45 meters. Wow. You’ll be able to land a passenger jetĀ in that space.

We have a petition here:
https://www.change.org/p/mayor-linda-hepner-keep-green-timbers-urban-forest-intact?recruiter=8051639&utm_source=share_for_starters&utm_medium=copyLink

Please share with anyone who may be interested.

 

But wait… there’s more!

There are other threats

Widening of 100 Avenue:

The City plans to widen 100th Avenue from two to four lanes between 140 and 148th Streets. This will isolate the northern bit of the Green Timbers Forest even more. Once again, the idea seems to be that the forest and park are not as important as getting people into Guildford as quickly as possible.

 

Two properties — not CURRENTLY in the park, but should be.

The City recently purchased two lots directly opposite the Jim Pattison Outpatient Centre at Green Timbers Way and 140 Street and has rezoned them for comprehensive development. Anyone walking or driving by, or flying overhead would think they’re part of the park. They’re partly forested. The City wants to develop them into a homeless shelter, transitional housing, a facility for seniors with dementia, and a bio-energy facility. The irony of that last proposal is they’d have to clear land to build a green-energy facility! They are all worthy ideas, but is this the best use of this space for the long term? We think these should be part of the park.

 

Summary:

It appears that although Green Timbers is valued as a green space, it’s not seen as a whole. Pieces that are historically part of this area are readied for development, and roadways are being widened, leading to further fragmentation and isolation of this forest. Shouldn’t there be a plan that takes the whole park into consideration?

 

Who you can call:

Barbara Steele Councillor (604) 591-4623 HBSteele@surrey.ca
Bruce Hayne Councillor (604) 591-4025 BruceHayne@surrey.ca
David Woods Councillor (604) 591-4349 Dave.Woods@surrey.ca
Judy Villeneuve Councillor (604) 591-4625 JAVilleneuve@surrey.ca
Mary Martin Councillor (604) 591-4622 MMartin@surrey.ca
Michael Starchuk Councillor (604) 591-4346 Mike.Starchuk@surrey.ca
Tom Gill Councillor (604) 591-4634 TSGill@surrey.ca
Linda Hepner Mayor (604) 591-4126 mayor@surrey.ca